Command Staff

Lower Pottsgrove Township Police Department is a full-time municipal police agency consisting of 20 sworn police officers and 2 civilian Administrative Support positions.  The department serves a population of about 12,500 residents and covers approximately 8 square miles.

Lower Pottsgrove Township Police Department is broken into two separate platoons, each consisting of two squads (dayshift and night shift) working 12-hour shifts.  Each Squad is supervised by a Patrol Sergeant.  We have a Detective division consisting of a detective and a detective sergeant.  Command officers include the Lieutenant and Chief of Police.    Lastly, we have an assigned School Resource Officer who reports to the Lieutenant.

Specific Operational Units Include:

Detective Division – our detective division consists of two full-time detectives who work on all major crimes cases.  The detective division is supervised by a Detective-Sergeant.  The detective division is on-call 24/7, 365 days/year.

Traffic Safety Unit – all officers within the agency are responsible for traffic safety to some degree through enforcement and education.  However, two officers are specifically assigned to oversee the department's traffic safety resources and to conduct specific tasks related to traffic safety enforcement. 

Bike Patrol Unit – we currently have a number of officers who are trained and certified through IPMBA to serve as bicycle patrol officers.  The unit is deployed for special operational details and seasonal directed patrol activities

The department is a member of the Montgomery County SWAT – Western (MSWAT-W) regional tactical team which is a multi-jurisdictional team consisting of 13 member municipalities.