U Drive. U Text. U Pay.

Put Your Phone Away, or Get Ready to Pay

NHTSA’s U Drive. U Text. U Pay. campaign reminds drivers of the deadly dangers and the legal consequences – including fines – of texting behind the wheel.

Forty-eight states, as well as Washington, DC, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Virgin Islands, have passed laws making it illegal to text while driving. 

Pennsylvania vehicle code prohibits this behavior as well.   This includes the following: send, read or write a text-based communication while the vehicle is in motion.  If stopped for this violation, you will be subject to a $50 fine plus court costs.   

From April 7-11, you may notice an increase in police enforcing texting laws and reminding drivers of the dangers.

Since 2007, drivers 16 to 24 years old have been distracted by devices at higher rates than other drivers, but we're all at risk for distracted driving crashes.

Consider these tips for safe driving:

•   If you must send or receive a text, pull over to a safe location and park your car first.
•   If you have passengers, appoint a “designated texter” to handle all your texting.
•   If you can’t resist the temptation to look at your phone, keep it in the trunk.